1983 – 1984 Joseph Lee

Membership: 43 – 40

This year marked the 20th Anniversary of our Club. As President Joseph put it, this Rotary year would be remembered as a difficult year in membership. The lingering efforts of recession combined with political uncertainties created an environment disruptive to retaining members and members participation.
Through the efforts of officers and members our Club won the award for the Best Club Service.
This year our Club enjoyed the honour of having our Club members, PP Philip Lai as District Governor and PP George Chu as District Secretary.
The Club involved in several projects jointly sponsored by all the Rotary Clubs in Hong Kong and Kowloon Areas. With Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK), the Televised inter-school Quiz started by our Club with most of the Clubs in Hong Kong joined in the sponsorship. It has been going on for the fifth year and Rotary image to the public is very received.
In December 1983, then the Hon. David Akers-Jones C.M.G., JP, Secretary for District Administration, officially opened the Rotary Hall in Tuen Mun. This Hall provided dormitory accommodation for up to 42 patients who had received treatment for mental disorders and require a period of rehabilitation prior to resuming their role in society.
During this Rotary year, PP Peter Harilela and Rtn. Sham Hemandas became Paul Harris Fellows.
This year has also been tinged with sadness as we bade farewell to many old members who left our Club as their commitments drove them to distant shores but we have also welcomed new members who have enthusiastically participated in the Club activites.